HomeHome  Main PageMain Page  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Pattern Reviews

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Ginger_Snaps
Moderator
avatar

Leo Cat
Number of posts : 4540
Age : 30
Location : The Otherworld
: : Werewolf
: :
More Numbers : 4508538
Registration date : 2008-07-22

PostSubject: Pattern Reviews   Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:37 am

I'd thought I start a thread where people can share their experiences working with certain patterns.

Simplicity 3750:


I didn't really have any problems when working with this pattern, and the sizing felt about right (sometimes they can run a tad small or large). I opted to go without the band under the bust because I don't like tying stuff at my back (it always winds up looking wonky). After having taken a closer look at the images on the pattern envelope, I may have made it more difficult by not puckering the sleeve at the top (where the sleeve meets the shoulder). The neck line is a tad shorter than I like, but I did not extend the pattern but used a trim instead to make the casing for the elastic, which saved about a half inch.

Here is my result:


Simplicity 4076:


I have made the faux wrap and knotted shirts. The pattern itself runs a tad small, so I would advise going up a size. That pattern is also shorter than what I like so I extended the pattern a couple of inches.

Here are my results:



_________________
I'm a werewolf, not a vampire!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.freewebs.com/madammarieshorrordollz/
Ginger_Snaps
Moderator
avatar

Leo Cat
Number of posts : 4540
Age : 30
Location : The Otherworld
: : Werewolf
: :
More Numbers : 4508538
Registration date : 2008-07-22

PostSubject: Re: Pattern Reviews   Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:38 am

Simplicity 3956:


The fit was about right if not slightly large (enough that you don't even need to install a zipper). The instructions were a little wonky and not so clear, and I would have preferred to see darts instead of just a general direction of "gather".

Here is my result:


_________________
I'm a werewolf, not a vampire!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.freewebs.com/madammarieshorrordollz/
Ginger_Snaps
Moderator
avatar

Leo Cat
Number of posts : 4540
Age : 30
Location : The Otherworld
: : Werewolf
: :
More Numbers : 4508538
Registration date : 2008-07-22

PostSubject: Re: Pattern Reviews   Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:52 pm

McCall's 5931



If you are of a larger size, be prepared to do some altering. The pleated bodice pieces, although look great on the model, is way too short if you have a larger bust, so you will need to alter the pieces (the pattern dips across the chest, so just drawing a straight line at the top of the piece and will fix that issue). The sleeves are also a little wonky in that they are Huge; I had to take five inches off the middle part just to make it not look like a clown costume. The pleated skirt at the back is none too flattering on a large person, so just altering the pattern to fit the back of the bodice makes it look decent. All-in-all, I like the end result.


_________________
I'm a werewolf, not a vampire!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.freewebs.com/madammarieshorrordollz/
DarkDreamer
senior member
avatar

Pisces Horse
Number of posts : 933
Age : 27
Location : Massachusetts
: :
More Numbers : 4441352
Registration date : 2008-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Pattern Reviews   Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:05 pm

I recently bought Ageless Patterns #1293.



It has been nothing short or a nightmare thus far. The instructions aren't terribly clear; I personally don't have much of a problem with that, but I can see how others might.

My main issue is the images on the package vs. what the pattern actually has the pieces for. It is literally just the basic pattern pieces for the skirt- no waistband, no ruffles, no tiers. I bought this pattern to avoid spending endless hours drafting.

Also, it ought to be noted that the pattern pieces that are includes are drafted quite carelessly (they're a copy of a hand-drafted pattern, and the hand-drafted part shows in the worst sort of way- wobbly lines, no notches, and just minimal information.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ginger_Snaps
Moderator
avatar

Leo Cat
Number of posts : 4540
Age : 30
Location : The Otherworld
: : Werewolf
: :
More Numbers : 4508538
Registration date : 2008-07-22

PostSubject: Re: Pattern Reviews   Fri May 31, 2013 1:30 am

I've done a lot more sewing since posting a review here, most of it being the same pattern but altering it a little so I don't have two of the same top, so I'll add a couple. (I didn't take any pictures of the results.)

1642 It's So Easy Misses' Skirt and Knit Top



This pattern is pretty straight forward an extremely easy to do, but my only criticisms are about the neckline and gap allowance for the slit. If you have narrow shoulders, the neckline extends too far out and thus exposes bra straps. The gap also shows any bra straps, but that is easily remedied by sewing the edges together so that the gap is smaller. The slit has moderate coverage if one is heavily busted, but if you have large breasts it might be best to extend the top edge of the pattern piece of the main shirt.

I have not attempted the skirt, so I can't comment on it.

9891 Misses Costumes



I bought this to make a top similar in appearance to that of view B. The overall fit is pretty good, but, again, the shoulders are a bit too wide so one will need to extend the pattern. The construction is pretty simple, so no comments there.

_________________
I'm a werewolf, not a vampire!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.freewebs.com/madammarieshorrordollz/
DarkDreamer
senior member
avatar

Pisces Horse
Number of posts : 933
Age : 27
Location : Massachusetts
: :
More Numbers : 4441352
Registration date : 2008-09-09

PostSubject: Re: Pattern Reviews   Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:07 am

I haven't bought patterns in a while... but I bought these two patterns a while ago:


1873 Polonaise


1870s Underskirt

I found them both extremely easy to work with. The sizing was spot-on and required no alteration. The patterns themselves were beautifully drafted and the instructions were very clear and simple. Though that patterns look like they're foe very complex garments, they were very easy to make. I'd highly recommend Truly Victorian's patterns.


My outfit (I did a few minor alterations):



Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Pattern Reviews   

Back to top Go down
 
Pattern Reviews
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Magic School: Book 1. (Reviews and Comments Available)
» Mutations List
» Arashi Clan

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
TheDarkRealm :: the threads :: D.I.Y.-
Jump to: